FREE USPS Shipping on US Domestic orders of $50 or more.

The Fountain of Life: 2 Volumes (Flavel)

(You save $9.60 )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Reformation Heritage Books

To make The Fountain of Life more accessible and profitable to a wider readership, Reformation Heritage Books has edited the original work and published it in two volumes: Christ Humbled yet Exalted and Christ and His Threefold Office. Read them thoughtfully, devotionally, and affectively.

Christ Humbled yet Exalted

John Flavel shows Christ as our fountain of true joy: secured for his people by his humiliation and his exaltation. By humiliation, Flavel means the incarnation - Christ’s birth, ministry, and death - by exaltation he means the four stages of resurrection, ascension, intercession, and His return in judgment.

Flavel shows this twofold act (humiliation and exaltation) is the foundation of our joy because through them Christ has removed our debt and secured our inheritance. “The believer knows,” says Flavel, “that however sweet his communion with Christ is in this world, yet that communion he will have with Christ in heaven will far excel it.”

Christ and His Threefold Office

Flavel explores the glory of Christ becoming a man “to qualify and prepare Him for a full discharge of His mediatorship, in the office of our Prophet, Priest, and King.”

“Salvation,” says Flavel, “is revealed by Christ as a Prophet, procured by Him as a Priest, applied by Him as a King. In vain it is revealed, if not purchased; in vain revealed and purchased, if not applied.”

Flavel’s treatment of the subject is polemical when necessary and painstakingly detailed when he believes the truth is at stake. It is an act of adoration, of meditations upon “the transcendent excellency of Jesus Christ.”